Abilene Reporter News: Sports

Dallas Cowboys
Motor Sports
Tiger Woods
Track and Field
Other Sports

 Reporter-News Archives

Tuesday, July 23, 2002

Drill Team competition will be tonight

By Harvey Johnston
Special to the Reporter-News

Perhaps the entertainment bargain of the year will unfold tonight in the Taylor County Coliseum when 10 drill teams from various Texas counties compete in the Texas State 4-H Horse Show Drill Team competition, which begins at about 6 p.m.

The 10 teams represent six different counties. They will be judged on precision, horsemanship, degree of difficulty of the drill and audience appeal. Each team is allotted 15 minutes to show their abilities. They have created their own patterns and costumes and select the music accompaniment.

Last year’s champion was the Harrison County Rebel Riders. Shelby County won the event for the four previous years.

Liberty, Matagorda, Shelby and Harrison Counties have two teams each with Henderson and Harris Counties with one team each.

The Precision Team competition will be held at 9:30 Wednesday morning. Each of the teams perform to the same pattern and music.

Scholarships offered

Wrangler is offering $700 scholarships to the high-point graduated senior in each of five classes during the Texas State 4-H Horse Show underway this week at the Taylor County Expo Center.

“We had 100 percent success last year,” said Bill Taylor of Abilene, Wrangler’s representative for the program.

Taylor said Wrangler received registration documentation from five schools chosen by the students.

The classes involved in the selection are judged horse, timed horse, hunter-jumper, roper and stock horse. If there is no graduating senior in any particular class, the $3,500 will be divided to the other four applicants.

Monday’s results

Hunter Seat Equitation over Fences — 1. Jordan Roway, Randall County; 2. Stephanie Zielinski, Cooke; 3. Brittany Banks, Randl; 4. Amy Northcutt, Randall; 5. Tina Rose Tolpa, Waller; 6. Ashley Greenhill, Johnson; 7. Heather Ford, Moore; 8. Bryan Ballew, Harrison; 9. Meredith Gosnell, Denton.

Working Hunter — 1. Amy Northcutt, Randall County; 2. Jordan Rowan, Randall; 3. Heather Ford, Moore; 4. STephanie Zielinski, Cooke; 5. Tina Rose Tolpa, Waller; 6. Ashley Greenhill, Johnson; 7. Holly seegers, Midland; 8. Meredith Gosnell, Denton; 9. Bryan Ballew, Harrison.

Open Jumping — 1. Stephanie Zielinski, Cooke; 2. Heather Ford, Moore; 3. Ashley Greenhill, Harrison; 4. Tina Rose Tolpa, Waller; 5. Meredith Gosnell, Denton; 6. Bryan Ballew, Harrison.

Working Cow Horse — 1. Megan Harrison, Hays County; 2. Levi Williamson, Taylor; 3. Tom Butler, King; 4. Colby Rideout, Taylor; 5. Katie McClusky, Tyler; 6. Julie King, Pecos; 7. Clayton Eggers, Brazoriz; 8. Burnnett Beard, Brazos; 9. Colton Daniel, Foard; 10. Katie Boyd, King.

2-year-old PLeasure (lst go-round) — 1. Charlotte Barrier, Grayson County; 2. Cody Wallace, Ellis; 3. Ross Bamburg, Ellis; 4. Will Via, Randall; 5. Whitney Johnson, Johnson; 6. Kendall Teague, Brown; 7. Heather Harkey, Galveston; 8. Lindsey Dunn, Johnson; 9. Becky Daniel, Foard; 10. Ward Wiggins, Clay.

Sunday’s results

Yearling Longe Line — 1. Michael Etherington, Rockwall County; 2. Randi Shouse, Collin; 3. Riley W. SMith, Walker; 4. Alicia Reper, Corywell; 5. Cory Crissman, Harris; 6. Savaqnnah Wise, Ector; 7. Wesley Flowers, Galveston; 8. Cassandra McKay, Potter; 9. Lindsey Van Dusen, Henderson; 10. Christopher Goznell, Denton.

Texas State 4-H Horse Show

- Where: Taylor County Expo Center

- What: Outdoor arena - Hunter Hack 8 a.m.; Hunter under Saddle 11:30 a.m.; Huntere Seat Equitation 1 p.m. Horse barn - Team Penning 9 a.m.; Coliseum - Reining Prelims 8 a.m.; 3-year-old Stock Horse, 1st go-round noon; Western Pleasure Futurity 2nd go-round; Drill Team Competition 6 p.m.



Send a Letter to the Editor about This Story

Start or Join A Discussion about This Story

Send the URL (Address) of This Story to A Friend:

Enter their email address below:

Click here for local sports

from the Reporter-News

ReporterNewsHomes ReporterNewsCars ReporterNewsJobs ReporterNewsClassifieds BigCountryDining GoFridayNight Marketplace

© 1995- The E.W. Scripps Co. and the Abilene Reporter-News.
All Rights Reserved.
Site users are subject to our User Agreement. We also have a Privacy Policy.