Abilene Reporter News: Sports

Dallas Cowboys
Motor Sports
Tiger Woods
Track and Field
Other Sports

 Reporter-News Archives

Thursday, June 13, 2002

Local area competitors lead state rodeo finals

By Harvey Johnston
Special to the Reporter-News

Region II of the Texas High School Rodeo Association is the leader in regional competition following the first go-round of the State Finals at the Taylor County Coliseum.

This is significant because Region II encompasses Taylor and 31 other counties, extending sest to El Paso, south to Val Verde and north through Tom Green back to Taylor County.

Region II has 151.5 points, second place Region I (everything north of Region II) collected 112 and Region VII around the Harris County area has 76.5.

In the all-around competition after the first go-round, Marty Eakin of Amarillo is leading with 360 points and Hayes Worthington of Ozona is second with 320 points. In the girls' division, Lindsey Ewing of Midland is leading the group with 360 and Nicole Lingo of Boling has 250.

In ceremonies before Wednesday night's performance, a total of 78 contestants received scholarships ranging from $600 to $4,000 for a total of $94,000. Thirty four students received $600. One official said everyone who applied for financial aid received it.

Outgoing THSRA President David Barnes of Wortham was honored for his service as president the last two years. Barnes started with the THSRA in 1995 when his children became eligible for competition. And as is usually the case, he stayed for additional years as he became more involved.

The THSRA and the Taylor County Expo Center have two years remaining on the current three-year contract.

Results from the Wednesday night performance will be carried in Friday's Abilene Reporter-News.

The rodeo continues through Saturday. The top 10 in each of 10 events will compete Saturday night for the year-ending championships. The top four after Saturday night will be eligible to compete in Farmington, N.M., at the National High School Rodeo Association Championships July 21-28.

Wednesday morning results

Steer Wrestling - 1. Marty Eakin, Amarillo, 4.430 seconds; 2. Mathew Cramblet, New Hope, .740; 3. Cody Kreft, Danbury, 8.020.

Barrel Racing - 1. Lindsey Slayton, Terrell, 15.608 seconds; 2. Macy Quintanilla, Tilden, 15.716; 3. Megan Shelton, Georgetown, 15.761; 4. Shannon Senn, San Marcos, 15.806; 5. Lucy Taylor, Victoria, 15.080; 6. Kacee Jo Georges, Livingston, 15.981; 7. Cheyenne Pietsch, El Campo, 16.074; 8. Bailey Wedgeworth, Overton, 16.084; 9. Destiny Vanlangendonck, Hardin, 16.093.

Bareback Riding - Justin Jarrell, Gainesville, 67 points.

Breakaway Roping - 1. Hope Thompson, Atlanta, 3.080 seconds; 2. Bonnie Karnei, Novasota, 3.110; 3. Kaylee Holt, Gruver, 3.160; 4. Shanna Roberts, Palmer, 3.410; 5. Carrie Davies, North Zulch, 3.460; 6. Cami Cartwright, San Augustine, 3.550; 7. Liz Davis, Gonzales, 3.620; 8. Erica Cochran, Pampa, 3.890; 9. Cheyenne Pietsch, El Campo, 4.130; 10. Brooke Catalani, San Antonio, 5.170.

Calf Roping - 1. Jason Timmerman, New Braunfels, 8.360 seconds; 2. Adam Gray, Seymour, 8.700; 3. Cody Crouch, Bay City, 9.160; 4. Justin Nevarez, Denver City, 10.350; 5. Luke Bland, Clarksville, 11.010; 6. Clayton Hass, Terrell, 11.520; 7. Cole Moody, Marion, 12.450; 8. Clay Ferguson, Ovalo, 13.060; 9. Dustin Farris, Montgomery, 15.000; 10. Tanner Grimes, Kaufman, 19.860.

Saddle Bronc Riding - No times.

Goat Tying - 1. Morgan Montello, El Campo, 8.510 seconds; 2. Larae Berry, Lovington, N.M., 8.600; 3. (tie) Lacy Hollabaugh, Stamford, and Hayley Kirkham, Conroe, 8.810; 5. Mandi Jo Fox, George West, 8.370; 6. (tie) Amanda Wisdom, and Amber Singleton, Combine, 9.540; 8. Raelyn Gardner, Lovington, N.M., 9.910; 9. Cheyenne Fietsch, El Campo, 10.120; 10. Mallory Schaar, Victoria, 10.190.

Team Roping - 1. Jason Stubbs-Martin Richter, 7.060 seconds; 2. Cole Johnson-Casey Graham, 7.340; 3. Jared Newman-Randall Robertson, 7.690; 4. Hayse Worthington-Alan Marth, 7.990; 5. Dusdtin Wright-Matt Cyphers, 8.070; 6. Cassidy Galloway-Tod Dillingham, 13.320; 7. Trey Culbertson-Dwayne Sanders, 13.470; 8. Brandon Phillips-Roy Snell, 20.820.

Pole Bending - 1. Angie Bennett, Angleton, 19.969 seconds; 2. Hope Thompson, Atlanta, 19.974; 3. Megan Shelton, Georgetown, 20.368; 4. Leigh Ann Neal, Eldorado, 20.582; 5. Jaclyn Pannell, Krum, 20.634; 6. Amber Singleton, Combine, 2.689; 7. Morgan Cox, Cleveland, 20.775; 8. Kristen Adams, Frierson, La., 20.833; 9. Morgan Lubbock, Seguin, 21.025; 10. JeTonna Sewalt, Brownwood, 21.106.

Bull Riding - Josh Blackburn, Porter, 72 points.


Send a Letter to the Editor about This Story

Start or Join A Discussion about This Story

Send the URL (Address) of This Story to A Friend:

Enter their email address below:

Click here for local sports

from the Reporter-News

ReporterNewsHomes ReporterNewsCars ReporterNewsJobs ReporterNewsClassifieds BigCountryDining GoFridayNight Marketplace

© 1995- The E.W. Scripps Co. and the Abilene Reporter-News.
All Rights Reserved.
Site users are subject to our User Agreement. We also have a Privacy Policy.