Abilene Reporter News: Sports

Dallas Cowboys
Motor Sports
Tiger Woods
Track and Field
Other Sports

 Reporter-News Archives

Thursday, December 31, 1998

Thursday, December 31, 1998

Watkins takes our honors, too


Staff Writer

Breckenridge head football coach Ross Dodson stresses esprit de corps -- team play -- above all else. But the spotlight focusing on 1998 postseason honors couldn't avoid highlighting the performance turned in by quarterback Cliff Watkins.

Watkins, a 6-4, 195-pound senior who was recently named Class 3A player of the year by Texas Football Magazine and Fox Sports Southwest, is also the Abilene Reporter-News All-Big Country player of the year for Class 3A. Watkins was named second-team all-state by the Associated Press Sports Editors.

The District 7-3A Most Valuable Player passed for 1,302 yards and 14 touchdowns in 13 games this season, completing 72 of 143 passes with only four interceptions.

The Buckaroos, who were ranked No. 1 in the state most of the season and won their first 12 games, also placed running back Byron Polley, center Josh Power and offensive lineman Jamie Whitt on the All-Big Country team.

Dodson, who guided the Buckaroos to a 12-1 season record after winning the District 7-3A championship, is the Coach of the Year.

Wes Henry from Comanche, who was unanimously voted as the most valuable defensive player in District 7-3A, is the All-Big Country defensive player of the year. Henry, a 5-11, 198-pound linebacker, notched a team-high 120 tackles this season, including 15 behind the line of scrimmage. He also caused four fumbles, recovered a fumble and intercepted one pass.

According to Pigskin Prep, Breckenridge had the top offense in the state, with an average of 392 yards and 44.3 points per game.

Polley contributed 1,735 yards rushing, with an average of nine yards per carry, along with 233 receiving yards. The District 7-3A offensive MVP scored 18 rushing touchdowns and caught two passes for scores. He also returned three kickoffs for scores.

The tight end on the team is also a Buckaroo -- Jake Herring, who caught 30 passes for 565 yards with five touchdowns.

Breckenridge center Josh Power made the team after recording 80 "pancacke" blocks in 1998. He was named first-team all-state by the APSE this season.

Buckaroo teammate Jamie Whitt, who had 91 "pancake" blocks, also made the team as an offensive lineman along with Noel Locker of Wylie, Jake Bailey of Clyde and Tanner Sykes of Ballinger. Whitt was an APSE honorable mention selection.

Joining Polley on the team at running back is Justin Glatter, who rushed for 1,021 yards and 18 touchdowns on 147 carries in nine games. Glatter, also a defensive standout, was named as the Reporter-News' defensive player of the week for his efforts in a 34-21 win over De Leon on Sept. 18.

Wylie's Justin Groban is on the team at wide receiver after catching 55 passes for 648 yards with five touchdowns. Groban, a 6-0, 160-pound senior, was a second-team selection on the APSE all-state team for the 1998 season, and was an honorable mention pick in 1997.

Justin Hill of Colorado City made the team at quarterback after passing for 2,085 yards in 13 games. He completed 138 of 287 passes with 16 touchdowns and 12 interceptions.

Colorado City teammate Randy Byington, one of several standouts in Hill's stable of receivers, made the team at wide receiver. Byington, who was a second-team all-state selection as a punter, caught 33 passes for 612 yards and five touchdowns.

Robert Taylor of Breckenridge, who was an APSE second-team all-state pick, anchors the defensive line on the All-Big Country team along with Jerrod Medulla and Eric Martin of Wylie, and Joel Davenport of Ballinger.

Wylie's top two tacklers, inside linebackers Morgan McGlothlin and R.D. Hussman, are on the team at linebacker along with Logan Jones of Breckenridge.

The defensive backfield includes Danny Herrera of Wylie, Skipper Roberson of Breckenridge, Adam Frerich of Ballinger and Nathan Kidd of Eastland.

Keith Boggess of Ballinger is the All-Big Country place-kicker, and Wylie's standout quarterback Scott Bull made the team as a punter. Boggess was a second-team selection on the APSE all-state squad.

Mark Wilson can be reached at 676-6775 or sports@abinews.com.



Player of the Year -- Cliff Watkins, Breckenridge, 6-4, 195, Sr.

Quarterback -- Justin Hill, Colorado City, 6-3, 190, Sr.

Wide receivers -- Justin Groban, Wylie, 6-0, 160, Sr.; Randy Byington, Colorado City, 6-21, 175, Sr.

Running backs -- Byron Polley, Breckenridge, 5-9, 185, Sr.; Justin Glatter, Comanche, 5-10, 180, Sr.

Tight end -- Jake Herring, Breckenridge, 6-2, 185, Jr.

Center -- Josh Power, Breckenridge, 6-2, 215, Sr.

Offensive linemen -- Jamie Whitt, Breckenridge; 5-11, 275, Sr.; Noel Locker, Wylie, 6-3, 240, Jr.; Jake Bailey, Clyde, 6-2, 220, Sr.; Tanner Sykes, Ballinger, 5-11, 185, Soph.

Place-kicker -- Keith Boggess, Ballinger, 5-10, 141, Jr.


Player of the Year -- Wes Henry, Comanche, 5-11, 198, Sr.

Linemen -- Robert Taylor, Breckenridge, 6-2, 195, Sr.; Eric Martin, Wylie, 6-1, 175, Sr.; Jerrod Medulla, Wylie, 5-9, 160, Sr.; Joel Davenport, Ballinger, 6-6, 210, Sr.

Linebackers -- R.D. Hussman, Wylie, 5-10, 195, Sr.; Morgan McGlothlin, Wylie, 5-11, 190, Sr.; Logan Jones, Breckenridge, 5-10, 195, Jr.

Backs -- Danny Herrera, Wylie, 5-10, 150, Sr.; Skipper Roberson, Breckenridge, 6-1, 175, Jr.; Adam Frerich, Ballinger, 5-9, 135, Jr.; Nathan Kidd, Eastland, 5-11, 145, Sr.

Punter -- Scott Bull, Wylie, 6-2, 175, Sr.

Coach of the Year -- Ross Dodson, Breckenridge


Send a Letter to the Editor about This Story | Start or Join A Discussion about This Story
Send the URL (Address) of This Story to A Friend:
Enter their email address below:


Reporter OnLine

Local Sports

Texas Sports

Copyright ©1998, Abilene Reporter-News / Texnews / E.W. Scripps. Publications

ReporterNewsHomes ReporterNewsCars ReporterNewsJobs ReporterNewsClassifieds BigCountryDining GoFridayNight Marketplace

© 1995- The E.W. Scripps Co. and the Abilene Reporter-News.
All Rights Reserved.
Site users are subject to our User Agreement. We also have a Privacy Policy.